Bowood is owned by The 9th Marquis of Lansdowne and has been in the family since 1754. The Estate has come a long way since being opened to the public in 1975.
Originally only the Library, Orangery and Chapel were open to the public. In 1976 work began on the Adventure Playground which opened in 1978 and to this day attracts thousands of visitors daily throughout the open season.
In the mid 1990’s, the Garden Centre was converted to its current use as Coffee Shop and Visitor Entrance to the House, Gardens and Adventure Playground.
1992 saw the opening of Bowood Golf & Country Club, set in the western corner of ‘Capability’ Brown’s 2,000 acre Great Park. The course was designed by world-renowned course designer Dave Thomas, the architect of The Brabazon at The Belfry. This course is recognised as one of the finest in the south of England. An extension to the Clubhouse, which includes the Kerry Conferencing and Banqueting Suite, Club House Brasserie was opened in 1998.
The Hotel and Spa had been the missing piece of our jigsaw and now enables us to offer guests the opportunity to stay in quality accommodation in beautiful surroundings. Its stunning facilities provide the hotel with unlimited opportunities. Fishing, garden tours, walking trails and golfing being among our many attractions, Bowood is increasingly becoming an outstanding destination in the South West for corporate days, exclusive conferencing, wedding celebrations, weekend breaks and rural escapes.
For more information please use the links on the right hand side.